Delaware General Assembly Members Support DC Statehood

The following is a letter members sent to Delaware's Congressional Delegation regarding DC Statehood.

Dear Delaware Congressional Delegation:

Representation is at the very heart of what we as elected officials do: We represent constituents. We represent their issues, concerns, beliefs and interests, and we take action on their behalf. It is a basic function of government that ensures that all residents have a voice in the decisions that impact their lives.

But for 712,000 American citizens living just 90 miles away, representation has been denied, despite their repeated requests to be made whole. The residents of Washington, D.C., live just footsteps from the seat of the United States government, but they have no say in the public policy that is enacted there. Despite District of Columbia residents endorsing statehood via a district-wide referendum in 2016 by 86 percent, Congress has refused to take action.

We write to fully endorse and support S.51, legislation from Senator Carper that would establish Washington, D.C., as the 51st state in our union. We thank Senator Coons and Representative Blunt Rochester for their support of this important and historic legislation, and we urge you to act decisively to ensure that these Americans’ voices are heard and represented.

By making the District of Columbia a state, Congress will finally give District citizens full voting representation in our government, which will also give them control of their local affairs. As we witnessed earlier this year, our capital’s status as a district prevented local leaders from activating its own National Guard unit during the January 6th insurrection or accepting aid from neighboring states. This led to a delay in critical assistance that could have stopped the riot in its early stages and saved lives.

No other democratic nation denies its capital’s residents the right to self-govern or to participate in the national legislature. Congress has repeatedly interfered with the District’s attempts to self-govern, including barring how they spend locally raised revenue.

As of 2020, the U.S. Census Bureau estimates that the District of Columbia has a population comparable to states such as Wyoming, Vermont, Alaska and North Dakota. District residents pay more federal taxes than residents of 22 states, serve on federal juries, and defend our nation as part of the U.S. military.

Despite their contributions, the residents of the District of Columbia continue to be treated as second-class citizens. Until Congress takes decisive action and honors their request to become a state, we cannot profess to hold true to the belief that all are created equal.

We, the undersigned members of the Delaware House of Representatives, urge the United States Congress to enact federal legislation granting statehood to the people of Washington, D.C. The State of Delaware supports admitting Washington, D.C. into the Union as a state of the United States of America.



Rep. Madinah Wilson-Anton                     Rep. Larry Lambert
26th District                                                7th District 


Rep. Paul S. Baumbach                              Rep. Valerie Longhurst
23rd District                                                House Majority Leader 


Rep. David Bentz                                       Rep. Sean M. Lynn
18th District                                                31st District                                      


Rep. Stephanie T. Bolden                           Rep. Melissa Minor-Brown
2nd District                                                  17th District 


Rep. Gerald L. Brady                                  Rep. John L. Mitchell
4th District                                                   House Majority Whip                                                    


Rep. William J. Carson                               Rep. Sharae’a Moore
28th District                                                 8th District


Rep. Nnamdi O. Chukwuocha                      Rep. Eric Morrison
1st District                                                      27th District 


Rep. Sherry Dorsey Walker                        Rep. Edward S. Osienski
3rd District                                                   24th District


Rep. Kendra Johnson                                  Rep. Peter C. Schwartzkopf
5th District                                                   Speaker of the House                                        


Rep. John A. Kowalko                                Sen.  Marie Pinkney
25th District                                                  13th District


Sen. Kyle Evans Gay                                  Sen. David P. Sokola
5th District                                                   Senate President Pro Tempore                      


Sen. Elizabeth Lockman                               Sen. Bryan Townsend
Senate Majority Whip                                   Senate Majority Leader 


Sen. Sarah McBride
1st District

Wilson-Anton - DC Statehood Letter.pdf311.95 KB